I’ve been writing now for about six or seven years and this has been an off and on process.  There are probably six manuscripts on my hard drive that I have every intention of finishing one day.  About four years ago I came up with what I thought was a brilliant story that combined many aspects of my life into one killer zombie story.  Masons, Knights Templar, World War II aircraft, and a crap ton of zombies.  It couldn’t have been any better.

While I was working on the manuscript my family suffered a great tragedy when my father succumbed to his battle with cancer.  After a lot of soul searching and pain I finished the book and it was published.  Now at that time an interesting thing began to happen.  People began to praise the book.  It got good reviews once some issues were worked out.  I was on cloud nine! 

So what the heck does this have do with anything?  Well, I don’t know why my book wasn’t as huge as we thought it would be and I’ve come to realize that it doesn’t matter.  It doesn’t matter that others kept telling me how great things would be or how awesome it was.

In the end I only have myself to place the blame on for an inflated ego.  The endless blog changes, multiple Facebook pages, advertising….

I got stuck on myself and soaked up anything that anyone said that was flattering and ignored the reality of things.

No apologies.  This is reality.  I have as much of a chance of hitting it big in the writing world as I do in catching a World Record Largemouth Bass in Ohio (which is impossible).  But you know what?  I still go fishing.  Any chance I get.  I’ll keep writing too.  You know why?  Because it’s about hope.  There is always a chance ya know?

All the Facebook pages but my own will be gone by the end of the evening.  If you are part of those and still want to be friends let me know.  I’d be honored!

In the end I’m a father, friend, fisherman, conservationist and author.  This is what I am and what I will always be.

