Tags

, , , , , ,

No not the immortal one, sillies!  I lost my writing soul.  But now it’s been found and put back into my life.

How did I lose it you ask?  You‘ve never tried writing a novel before have you?  It’s not hard to do.  You lose track.  You lose passion.  You get confused and flustered.  You lose the will to write.  Pretty simple.

The real question is, “How did I find it?”  That is a result of a series of events.  First was reading “Bad Moon Rising” by Maberry.  What a wonderful novel.  Second was The Blues.  I’m talking Robert Johnson, Howlin’ Wolf, Muddy Waters, BB King, and John Lee Hooker.  Maberry uses the blues in his work quite extensively and I think it’s part of the reason I love his work.  Without the blues you have nothing modern.  No rock, rap or any other crap they pass off as music now a days.

I also got a kick in the head about “Journals of the Apocalypse” (JotA) and what I had done wrong with it and more important, how I’m going to fix it.  I called one of my best friends last night on the way home, J Dane Tyler, and spoke to him for quite awhile about some ideas I came up with.  We found a middle ground that we both felt would change JotA for the better with out losing the concept I was using.  I’ve also talked to Bryce Beattie, the author of Oasis, and worked through some ideas of how to break writer’s block that really isn’t writer’s block.  

I know where I want the story to go and have it outlined in my head.  I know who the heroes and villains are.  I just couldn’t write it.

I’ve also been accused of not sharing the personal side of me and this is a good time to do so. 

I believe in the immortal soul.  I believe in fate, deja vu, and signs and portents in life.

I started reading Chapter One of Ghost Road Blues, the first book of the Pine Deep Trilogy and there is a quote at the beginning.

I went to the crossroads, fell down on my knees

I went to the crossroads, fell down on my knees

Asked the Lord above, have mercy now, save poor Bob if you please.

Robert Johnson, “Crossroad Blues”

For those of you who don’t know the story of Robert Johnson here it is in a nutshell.  Robert Johnson was reported to have sold his soul to the devil to be famous.  He only recorded twelve songs but there is a mysterious thirteenth one out there somewhere.  Problem is nobody knows if it’s true or not.  If your curious there is a movie called Crossroads with Ralph Macchio, Jami Gertz and Steve Vai in it.  Even if you think it’s a bad movie the blues in it is wonderful.  And speaking more of the blues…

I love the blues.  With a passion.  It speaks to my heart.  I am currently rebuilding my collection that was lost to an evil girlfriend many many years ago.  I have three albums right now that I’ve loaded on my Zune.  You ask why only three?  I’m picky.  Plain and simple.

Best of John Lee Hooker

King of the Delta Blues (Robert Johnson)

The Ultimate Collection: BB King

So there I am last night reading Ghost Road Blues, while my beautiful wife soaked in the tub, and I finish the prologue and get to the first chapter.  I begin to read the quote above and on my Zune what song starts playing?  “Crossroad Blues” .  Word for word I read the quote with the lyrics and got chills up and down my spine.  Freaky isn’t it?  Worst part is that it happened again later in the night!

I swear our baby is going to be born with a busted up fedora on her head, a stogie in her mouth, a battered six string, and wearing a Steelers Jersey spouting the mantra of the Order of the Fist.

I’ve never left you my loyal readers.  I’m back in my heart now.  Jamming out to some wailing blues and typing away.  Never fret, I have some incredible stuff in mind and I’m coming with a vengeance. 

My goal?  I want to take the literary world by storm.  I want to break the molds and put good works in print!  Why do we have Barnes and Noble?  Ever wondered that?  Because there is WAY to much crap in print!  Be selective and support the writers that care about their readers!

Have a great weekend everyone!  Happy Valentines Day, Happy Presidents Day and most of all Happy Birthday to me!  I’ll be Thirty Six on Sunday.  I’m getting old.

On a quick side note, Mallory, get here soon I’m looking forward to meeting you!

Digg This
