Tags

, , ,

Why do people have to mock it?

If you don’t believe in it that’s fine but you don’t have to berate others. 

Today, on NPR, I heard an interview with Bill Maher and Larry Charles about their new movie.  Now don’t get me wrong, I believe in free speech, but I feel making fun of, berating, or downplaying someone’s religion is distasteful and disrespectful.  Personally I feel like it invades my right to Freedom of Religion because of the power of the press.

If you don’t believe or have any faith then so be it.  You may be right but you may also be wrong!  If you are right then that’s all there is.  If you are wrong, well, I guess you’ll find out the truth!  However, the flip-side is also true for those who do believe.

I guess my problem lies with the amount of disrespectful and distasteful things that are said and shown on television and in the theaters.  Do NOT force your beliefs on me.  I have my own and will go to the grave with them.  Just because they are different than your’s doesn’t make me any less of a person.  Accept me for who I am and not what you think I should be.

