Tags

, , ,

I thought I had lost my mind.  No ifs ands or buts, I needed institutionalized.  Please allow me to explain….

As a child I relished rainy Saturday mornings because it meant my father and I would watch B-Grade horror movies together on the couch.  The one movie that stands out in my mind (and probably started all of this) was The Omega Man.  What an awesome flick!  Based on Richard Matheson’s novel I am Legend and it had Charleton Heston in it.  How could it go wrong?!?

Oh but it did….

So began my fascination with zombies.  Hell, I even grew up in Pittsburgh where Romero filmed so many of his zombie classics (of which I have copies!). My wife is from an area where Night of the Living Dead was filmed and the cemetery scene in the opening was filmed in the cemetery behind my house!

Are you beginning to see a trend here?

Then I found video games.  Hmmm….Resident Evil anyone?

And the downward spiral continued….

My true passion though is reading.  When I got my hands on World War Z and The Zombie Survival Guide I was in literary heaven!  Max Brooks, David Wellington, David Moody and a slew of other authors began to pour into my mind from paperbacks and online serials.  Then of course there is J.L. Bourne’s Day by Day Armageddon which I believe is a masterpiece.

The spiral widened….

It wasn’t just modern zombies either.  Voodoo zombies, Ghouls, Romero zombies, and then modern movie zombies.  28 Days Later, the Resident Evil trilogy, Shaun of the Dead.  It didn’t matter.  I was into ALL of it.  No matter how they were created, how fast they were, what they ate, it didn’t matter to me.  I loved them all!

Therefore the topic for the rest of this story shouldn’t surprise any of you!

Chapter 1: The Morning….

